Skip to content
Spectra Forensics, Investigation Specialist

Knowledge base · Insolvency

What are avoidance transactions (PUFE) under the IBC?

Short answer

Avoidance transactions are dealings by a corporate debtor before insolvency that the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code 2016 allows the NCLT to reverse: preferential (s. 43), undervalued (s. 45), transactions defrauding creditors (s. 49) and extortionate credit (s. 50). Together with fraudulent or wrongful trading under s. 66, they are commonly called PUFE transactions.

Definition of Avoidance Transactions under IBC (PUFE) (also: PUFE transactions, PUFE, avoidable transactions, vulnerable transactions, preferential and undervalued transactions)

Avoidance transactions are transactions entered into by a company before it went into insolvency that unfairly reduced the pool of assets available to creditors, and which the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code 2016 (IBC) allows the National Company Law Tribunal (NCLT) to undo. Practitioners call them PUFE transactions: preferential, undervalued, fraudulent and extortionate.

When a company is heading for insolvency, its controllers may pay favoured creditors, move assets to related parties or strip value cheaply. Avoidance provisions restore that value for the general body of creditors.

What are the four types?

Type IBC section What it covers Look-back period
Preferential s. 43 Transfer for an existing debt that puts a creditor, surety or guarantor in a better position than in the s. 53 waterfall 2 years for related parties; 1 year for others
Undervalued s. 45 (period in s. 46) Gifts or transfers for significantly less than value, outside the ordinary course of business 2 years for related parties; 1 year for others
Defrauding creditors s. 49 Undervalued transactions entered into deliberately to put assets beyond creditors' reach No look-back limit
Extortionate credit s. 50 Credit requiring exorbitant payments 2 years

Transfers in the ordinary course of business are excluded from s. 43. Debt from a financial service provider given in compliance with law is excluded from s. 50.

Alongside these, s. 66 deals with fraudulent trading (business carried on with intent to defraud creditors) and wrongful trading (directors who knew, or ought to have known, that insolvency could not be avoided and did not try to minimise losses). These lead to orders that individuals contribute to the company's assets, rather than reversal of a specific transaction. See fraudulent and wrongful trading under s. 66.

What did the IBC (Amendment) Act 2026 change?

The IBC (Amendment) Act 2026 (Act 6 of 2026) received assent on 6 April 2026, and its avoidance-related provisions came into force on 26 May 2026. Key changes:

  • New definitions. s. 5(2A) defines "avoidance transaction" as a transaction under ss. 43, 45, 49 and 50; s. 5(9A) defines "fraudulent or wrongful trading" by reference to s. 66.
  • Look-back computation. For ss. 43, 46 and 50, the relevant period now runs from the stated period before the initiation date (the date the insolvency application was filed) up to the insolvency commencement date. Previously it was counted only back from the commencement date.
  • Survival. The substituted s. 26 confirms that avoidance and s. 66 proceedings continue after the CIRP or liquidation is complete.
  • Creditor applications. The substituted s. 47 lets a creditor, member or partner apply where the resolution professional or liquidator has not reported a PUFE or s. 66 transaction.
  • Liquidators. A liquidator may now apply under s. 66.

How are they identified?

During a corporate insolvency resolution process (CIRP), the resolution professional must form an opinion on ss. 43, 45, 50 and 66 transactions by day 75, make a determination by day 115, and apply to the NCLT by day 135, under reg. 35A of the CIRP Regulations. To do this, resolution professionals commonly appoint a transaction auditor; see forensic audit in CIRP and how resolution professionals identify PUFE transactions.

What are the red flags?

  • Repayment of promoter or group-company loans shortly before default, while other creditors went unpaid.
  • Sale of property or plant to a related party at below market value.
  • New security created for an existing unsecured lender.
  • Payments to entities with no apparent business purpose, often traced through asset tracing.

Avoidance transactions are a civil remedy in insolvency. They overlap with, but are distinct from, a wilful defaulter declaration by banks, fraud classification under RBI directions, and the criminal offence in s. 69 IBC of defrauding creditors. One set of facts can give rise to all of them. They usually come to light in stressed assets. Each route has its own tests, so specific legal advice is needed.

Spectra Forensics' stressed asset and insolvency forensics service covers transaction reviews to identify and evidence PUFE and s. 66 transactions.

Frequently asked questions

What does PUFE stand for?

PUFE is shorthand for Preferential, Undervalued, Fraudulent and Extortionate transactions, corresponding broadly to ss. 43, 45, 49 and 50 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code 2016. Practitioners often include fraudulent or wrongful trading under s. 66 in the same review. Since 26 May 2026, s. 5(2A) of the Code formally defines an 'avoidance transaction' as a transaction under ss. 43, 45, 49 and 50.

Do avoidance applications end when the CIRP ends?

No. The Delhi High Court held in Tata Steel BSL v. Venus Recruiter (2023) that avoidance applications are independent proceedings that survive the CIRP. The IBC (Amendment) Act 2026 put this in statute: the substituted s. 26 says completion of the CIRP or liquidation does not affect the continuation of avoidance, fraudulent or wrongful trading, or s. 47 proceedings.

Can a creditor file an avoidance application itself?

Since 26 May 2026, yes, in specified cases. The substituted s. 47 allows a creditor, alone or jointly, or a member or partner, to apply to the NCLT where the resolution professional or liquidator has not reported a preferential, undervalued, extortionate or fraudulent or wrongful trading transaction. The NCLT may also direct IBBI to start disciplinary proceedings against a professional who had enough information but did not report.

Sources

  1. Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India, Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Act 2026, Act 6 of 2026 link
  2. Ministry of Corporate Affairs, Notification S.O. 2625(E) bringing the IBC (Amendment) Act 2026 into force (2026) link
  3. Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India, Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code 2016 (consolidated to 2021) link
  4. Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India, Note on Tata Steel BSL Ltd v. Venus Recruiter Pvt Ltd (2023) link
Confidential enquiry